About us

Clinical Hypnosis Training for Health Professionals by Health Professionals

BSCAH is a Society which is made up healthcare professionals. BSCAH aims to promote the safe and responsible use of hypnosis in medicine, dentistry and psychology, and to educate both our professional colleagues and the public about hypnosis and its uses.

We are dedicated to promoting and maintaining the highest professional standards in the practice of hypnosis for clinical or experimental purposes and in the dissemination of information concerning hypnosis.

BSCAH encourages the conduct of research into and audit of practices of clinical hypnosis and the publication of the useful results of that research.

BSCAH members are health professionals in their own right and are subject to the strict guidelines and codes of conduct specified by their own professional body. Each member gives a signed undertaking to use hypnosis only for those purposes for which they are professionally qualified and within the strict limitations of their professional work.

BSCAH operates a system of Accreditation to its members. This is designed as a peer-review of the members experience and safety as a person using hypnosis in their work. It is used to assess clinical skills, rather than being an academic hurdle.

BSCAH Accreditation gives you eligibility for the European Certificate of Hypnosis.

A Guide to the Application for the Certification of Accreditation can by found if you login to the members area. If you are not a member please email natoffice@bscah.co.uk for further information

BSCAH is divided into six geographical regions, each region being referred to as a Branch.
Branches work within the ethos of BSCAH and have their own internal organisation, usually comprising a Chair, Hon Sec and Treasurer. Branches hold their own funds, and submit their annual accounts to the National Office. 

History of hypnosis by Jean Rogerson

History of hypnosis by David Simons

BSCAH’s Trustees:
Dr Jane Boissiere: President
Dr Martin Wall: Chairman
Dr Gill Smith: Hon Secretary

Dr Maureen Tilford

Executive Team

Hilary Walker: CEO
Zoita Mandila: Treasurer
Dr Kathy Kinmond: Chair of Education Committee
Dr Martin Wall: Chair of Trustees

The BSCAH Team

Mr Simon Barnett: Midlands Grad Cert/Adv Diploma/BSc/PGCert Course Leader
Dr Maureen Tilford: Communication Officer

Mr David Kraft: London Branch Representative
Dr Peter Naish: ESH/ISH Representative
Dr Martin Wall: ESH/ISH Representative
Dr Les Brann: Eastern Counties Branch Representative
Dr Ann Williamson: Lancs & Cheshire Branch Representative
Dr Grahame Smith: Northern Counties Branch Representative
Miss Zoita Mandila: West of England Branch Representative

Webmaster: Dr Ann Williamson
Ethical Officer: Dr Grahame Smith

If you have any queries please contact Hilary Walker in the first instance at National Office (natoffice@bscah.co.uk).

Further contact information is available via our Contact Us page.